The NAWJ President grants a Lady Justice Award honor to a member of the NAWJ community who uses their person and position with equanimity, respect, transparency and impartiality to advance the values of its mission to promote the judicial role in protecting the rights of individuals under the rule of law through strong, committed, diverse judicial leadership; fairness and equality in the courts; and equal access to justice.

## LADY JUSTICE AWARD Presented to THE HONORABLE ANNA BLACKBURNE-RIGSBY



NAWJ Past President Chief Judge Anna Blackburne-Rigsby has shown leadership at the District of Columbia Courts and in NAWJ by promoting access to justice in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic. Chief Judge Blackburne-Rigsby has provided a steady hand in ensuring the business of the courts ad-dress the needs of the District of Columbia community, in addition to enhancing the national discussion on enduring the pandemic as a participant in NAWJ forums including "Courts on the Frontline: Providing Access to Justice While Protecting Public Health During a Pandemic," a panel of state court chief judges, and "Families in Crisis: The Impact of the Pandemic on Families in the Wake of

COVID-19," an education forum and part of NAWJ's annual meeting with Congressional Caucus for Women's Issues.

Judge Blackburne-Rigsby was sworn in as Chief of the District of Columbia Court of Appeals on March 17, 2017. As Chief Judge of the District of Columbia Court of Appeals, Chief Judge Blackburne-Rigsby chairs the Joint Committee on Judicial Administration for the District of Columbia. Prior to being designated Chief Judge, Chief Judge Blackburne-Rigsby was nominated by President George W. Bush in August 2006 to serve as an Associate Judge of the District of Columbia Court of Appeals. Before that, Chief Judge Blackburne-Rigsby, nominated by President William Jefferson Clinton, served as an Associate Judge of the Superior Court of the District of Columbia from 2000-2006, and served as a Magistrate Judge on the Superior Court of the District of Columbia from 1995-2000.