

## March 14, 2025 Mid-Year Report - District 4 Honorable Francine L. Applewhite – District Director

District 4 Board Members:

Judge Francine L. Applewhite MD Chapter Preside f_applewhite@yahoo.com	ent Judge Krystal Alves KQAlves@co.pg.md.us	Secretary
Judge Gwenlynn D'Souza Vice President gwdsouza@outlook.com	Judge Jacinta Alves JacintaAlves@gmail.com	Treasurer
	Judge Judith Wheat jwheat@arlingtonva.us	VA Chapter President

On Saturday, October 26, 2024, Judge Cathy H. Serrette was recognized by the Prince George's County Family Justice Foundation for her 7-year dedication and unwavering commitment in the establishment of the Prince George's County Family Justice Center, as this year's Honorary Awardee.

On Thursday, November 13, 2024, District 4 honored Judge Julia Weatherly with the Edna B. Parker award in recognition of her outstanding contributions, tireless efforts (creating, growing, and maintaining The Women Moving Forward Reentry Program), and dedication. The event was held at the DC Court of Appeals Historic Courthouse. Chief Judge Anna Blackburne-Rigsby welcomed us. In attendance were several NAWJ's Past Presidents, District Directors, and Judge Weatherly's former law clerks.





On March 14, 2025, the First Lady of Maryland hosted District 4, the Women Legislators of the Maryland General Assembly, and the Women Legislators of Maryland Foundation Inc. at Government House for the Justice Irma S. Raker dinner. Justice Raker, the second women to be appointed to the Maryland Court of Appeals, was this year's honoree. Governor Wes Moore attended and offered remarks. First Lady Dawn Moore, who dined with us, acknowledged the significance of the gathering during Women's History Month.